THE LOUVRE

IMG_6338I’m going to narrate a little bit of my experience at the Louvre, during our vacation in France! I absolutely love museums! It’s always part of my vacation, specially after moving to Denver! Denver is a fantastic place to live, but we don’t have access to culture here and our Denver Art Museum is a little bit of a joke! so, every time I travel, I make sure I include museums, and theater and a little bit of culture as part of my vacation, to make up for what I don’t have access at home!

and, I have to say, I’m a bit of a museum snob! after visiting the best museums in São Paulo and NYC, and around the country, it’s hard to impress me! I also covered arts and culture for Brazilian magazines and local newspapers in the East Coast, so I’ve been to a lot of museums, way too many times! that’s how to Louvre comes into play! of course visiting The Louvre was a must in my Parisian itinerary! however, due to the size of the museum, I really didn’t want to focus on the Louvre during this trip! – did you know, it would take someone nine months to visit the entire museum? the Louvre is the largest museum in the world!

I wanted to visit the Rodin Museum and the Museo D’Orsay in this trip and leave the Louvre for a time where I could come back to Paris with more time, so I could go back to The Louvre twice, at least! see it with more time and patience! however, things changed along the way! I ended up not going to the Rodin or D’Orsay, due to poor planning? I don’t know… and The Louvre was open on a Monday when everything else was closed!

I made a list of what was more important for me, with the location of each piece of art, so I wouldn’t waist my time looking for everything and prepared myself the best that I could to brave the crowds! but nothing could have prepared me for what I saw!

IMG_6340IMG_6341The Louvre is, without a doubt, impressive! the day before, when we were biking home long the Seine, we biked past the Louvre and I couldn’t believe the size of the building. it might be the longest building I’ve ever seen in my life! we biked for blocks and blocks and the building continued going! I could really not believe the size of that place! people are not kidding!

also, I follow a Brazilian blog in Paris, Conexão Paris, and they posted a secret entrance, that nobody really knows about, where you can scape the long lines and just buy your ticket and get in! I was so glad I had this tip and would love to share here with you: when you go to the Louvre, instead of following the crowds and try to enter through the main entrance, the pyramids, walk past them, continue walking a look for the entrance called Porte de Lions!

it’s a little hidden, so you need to pay attention! if you enter the entire complex through the main entrance, you are going to walk past the pyramids, continue walking, and the Porte de Lions will be on your left!

porte-lionimage from conexão paris!

so, that’s was a win! I absolutely love museums, but I hate crowds, and I can’t deal with them! I get nervous and anxious and then I need to leave before I have a panic attack. but, that did not solve all our problems! the Louvre, as was everything else in Paris, was packed! full with people and tourists everywhere!

IMG_6343 IMG_6342 IMG_6348IMG_6347it was great to know what I wanted to see and have my itinerary ready, with all the room numbers, so I would not waist time! The Louvre has 35,000 permanent pieces of art! also, the museum has 4 floors, 60,600m2 and 3 wings: Denon, Richelieu and Sully!

we saw the monalisa, of course, not impressive at all and super small! the monalisa is on Denon, room 206 (the numbers might change), on room 277 there were so many french painters, we saw a few Delacroix, oh, my heart! we saw the Venus de Milo, in the ground floor!

IMG_6349^^ the silly monalisa!

we made a quick stop to have some coffee and hot chocolate at Angelina, the famous Parisian café inside the Louvre and then continued to explore. the Louvre was built in 1190 – maybe the oldest building I’ve ever been inside! but it was only converted into a museum in 1793, after Luis XIV moved to Versailles! we passed through the pyramids, and tried for minutes to find the Napoleon Quarters! B. always talks about how impressed he was with the Napoleon quarters!

IMG_6350^^ i had some fantastic cappuccinos and lattes in france! their coffee is exquisite!

by then I’d had enough and needed o leave! there was so many people, you are always bumping into people and that drove me insane! if you do well with crowds, make sure to visit the wonderful Egyptian area!

IMG_6346^^ the arch that leads to the Jardim das Tuileries – I was dying to visit this place. somehow, we turned the other way and went home…?

 

…more to come!

Leave a Reply

