AN ENGAGEMENT STORY

B. was kind enough to write his vision of our engagement! it was so funny reading it, I’m going to share it here with you! but, bear in mind, this is his side of the story and I see things very differently! 🙂

_______________________________________________________________________________________

AN ENGAGEMENT STORY, by Bret Shugrue

0379_vanessa-bret_130429 0384_vanessa-bret_130429

“It’s hard to surprise someone when they’ve been walking around the house wearing their engagement ring before you even leave for Spain, tell you the date it should happen which was our 4 year anniversary and asked for it to be early so she doesn’t  have to stress out about getting engaged all day. When I thought about this a few weeks before our engagement it seemed insane, because it was. So I decided to just roll with it and propose in a place I deemed worthy no matter the time of day, all I knew was that if I thought I found the spot I couldn’t allow myself to argue my way into finding a better spot. As we walked to the prettiest part of Retiro Park in Spain I decided this was the spot, with one look at the photos later how was I going to find a better setting? I reached into my bag while Vanessa was speaking with her cousin and quietly untied the ribbon on the box and reached in without looking and the ring wasn’t there. I panicked, though quietly, Vanessa told me not to be so crazy a few days before we left and untie the nice ribbon she made, she told me not to be paranoid. Well in those few seconds I wanted to kill her for not letting me check something so simple, but alas after 20 more seconds of feverishly searching the front of my bag very, very subtly so she wouldn’t notice I found it. Whew
Next I needed an opportunity that felt alone despite this being in public, we did have her cousin Fabio with us which was great since I knew we’d have photos but I needed to ditch him for a few seconds so it could just be us, Vanessa chose to take a photo fairly far away with me, below a higher part of the park. It was my chance, I fiddled with my left pocket one last time ( i always put important things in my left pocket) to make sure the ring I slipped into there was in fact still there and it was, the 10 minutes it was in my pocket I checked it so much people must have thought I was an exhibitionist creep. After a few photos when Vanessa turned away to look at some other piece of beauty in the park I dropped to my knee and grabbed her hand. After saying something about our life and how much we’ve done together (moved to Denver, started a business, grew it into a successful business that is growing rapidly, became healthier people, became better people, etc)  I said, “Quer casar comigo?” which is will you marry me in Portuguese. She cried what appeared to be moisturizer, I’ve never seen cream stream out of someone’s eyes before (without it being rated for adults),  she forgot to answer for a bit, said yes and then to my surprise two random women in Madrid started applauding and were taking photos the entire time.
We walked thorough the park after that, had a celebratory beer, rented some bikes and rode them around the park for the next hour happily engaged.”
the pictures of my beautiful ring were taken during our engagement shoot, by spanish photographer, jesus caballero, from white dress photo!

0401_vanessa-bret_130429this blue tile that shows is in the pictures is a little porcelain box I purchased in Escorial especially to hold my ring, when I’m not using it, at home! Escorial was one of B.’s favorite things we did in Europe, so it feels so special to have something from that beautiful country town holding my ring!

Leave a Reply

