WHEN WE WERE SINGLE

IMG_2339B. and I have been living together for a long time now. we met in early 2009, so the engagement was not a big surprise. we know we want to be together, we are building a life together, we have a company together and we have decided to stay together forever – big surprise!

I really avoid using in my daily life all the regular labels. “we are just dating” did not describe what we had together for a very long time. when you share a home, a life, a business with someone, you are not just dating.

“we got engaged” is also i struggle with. we belong to each other. the ring on my finger does not make that any more real than washing his dirty underwear in my hands {i like to wash delicates with my hands}. you know what I mean?

maybe it’s because i’m brazilian. but the entire hullabaloo around the engagement that happens in america i really don’t get. of course, there is a ring involved in the whole thing, and that’s fun and beautiful, and sparkly. but it’s just a ring. just a thing. and things are just things. nothing is better than falling asleep on B.’s chest every night or the sweet kisses he gives me before leaving for work. even when i’m sleeping and not aware he is leaving and he is kissing me, my heart feels them. i know in my heart i’m loved and i feel peace. no ring in the world is better or more beautiful than that.

i’m a woman who values the actions of everyday instead of placing an incredible value on one single magical night with a proposal. i know he wants to be with me, because he is investing in our future and in our family everyday, not because he said so in spain.

with that said, i’m celebrating this thing with everything i’m entitled to. not a lot of great things happened in my lifetime, so i’m really taking the time to think about this, experience it, take it in, celebrate it, share out love with our families and with the world.

the world needs more love.

and i wanted to share with you something silly we did back in march 2013 to celebrate our love and to remember who we are when we were “just dating”.

we wanted something to remember how silly we were, to look back and remind us of how much fun we have together. so we did a “SINGLE PHOTO SHOOT” – everyone takes a engagement photo shoot. we took a single photo shoot.

i plan on been engaged for a very long time. so i wanted something to remember us when we were single, “just dating”.

____________________________________________

WHEN WE WERE SINGLE / 1

IMG_2325i think i’ll not be using “my fiencé”, when referring to B. at least not much. 1. english is my second language and “fiancé” doesn’t mean much to me. 2. B. is too awesome to be my “fiancé”, so i’ve been calling him my BEYONCÉ. he is great, awesome, and increadible performer {ask him about the earthquake – quite the performance}, fierce, strong, the term “beyoncé” has a lot more to do with him.

IMG_2321IMG_2355 IMG_2358IMG_2381 IMG_2377IMG_2338 IMG_2331 IMG_2336 IMG_2337IMG_2354 IMG_2359IMG_2348The Hazards of Love by The Decemberists – the album we fell in love to.

Leave a Reply

