awkward / 1,756 things at the same time

Screen shot 2013-02-10 at 9.38.36 PMimage from tattly, awesome temporary tattoos.

i have had a little trouble managing my anxiety lately. you know, when you have thousands of things in your mind at the same time, and you want to execute all of them now and only right now and, of course, nothing gets done?

it’s like that around here.

i only work well if i have a very strict routine. i need discipline or my days are waisted. at the same time i’m a big lover of spontaneity. so, how to make these things work?

last year i had a fantastic schedule. see, working from home, i need discipline and a routine or i end up spending an entire day cleaning and forget about cooking or working or writing.

i divided my day into blocks of hours.

6-8am: read the paper. {we wake up early around here, 4am normally}

8-11am: my free time of the day: i could sleep late, take long showers, go on a bike ride, go shopping, go to the gym.

12pm: if B. needed help, i’d start working at 12pm. otherwise this was time for cleaning and cooking, organizing the home and his life the best that i could to make life better, comfortable, easier.

4pm:  this was my official start of work hour. there was no time to end. sometimes i’d be done by 9pm, sometimes i’d work the night and sleep in the next morning.

this really worked for me in 2012. i got to go to the gym everyday. i had consistency.

however, since spending 2 months in Brazil, it’s been tough to get back to any type of routine. also, this year i’m investing a lot more of my time to the company, so most days i wake up, don’t read the paper, don’t take my morning ME time and start working in bed. open the laptop and only leave around 11am to eat something, cook, shower, etc.

i have to say that i can see results on extending my working hours. at the same time, i miss some routine that involves time for myself. i’ve been working non stop from the time i wake up, to the time i go to sleep {when that happens, i suffer a lot with insomnia} and haven’t been going to the gym at all, or cleaning the house well. i’m not complaining, i love what i do. i have never been happier, i just wish i had the most fantastic house cleaner on earth, and a cook, and was slim and toned and never needed to go to the gym. 🙂

since that’s not the case, i need to balance things out. i know obsession is bad for me. i need to divide my time so i can do different things everyday.

it feels like i have abandoned a few aspects of my life  that i really enjoyed. at the same time, when i do take time to myself i feel guilty. does anyone who own their own business feels like that as well? i leave the house and soon enough start thinking: “i could be working right now…”

it wasn’t like this before. maybe it’s just a phase?

this week, my goal is to focus.

for a person like me {diagnosed with generalized anxiety disorder, hyperactivity, obssessive-compulsive disorder – what a combo!} focus is such a dream.

i’m going to focus on happiness. and everything that involves:

1. juice cleanses
2. watch “happy
3. read “project happiness
4. clean the house with method grapefruit
5. take better care of my skin
6. drink lots of water and coconut water – hydrate
7. go to barre method classes, hikes, bike rides
8. enjoy the sunshine

life is beautiful.

3 comments
  1. Abigail Hayes said:

    Aghh the joys of owning your own business! I know all about giving up “me” time, but I got back on track and made sure that I put “me” back on the list! I like your goal for the week, you inspired me to pay a little more attention to the things that matter, like happiness and the sunshine:) Have a productive week and I’ll do the same 🙂

    • Thank you for commenting Abby! It’s nice to know I’m not alone! I’ll be working really hard this week on the simple, joyful things in life! Have a great week! 🙂

  2. amando muito todos os posts! adorando o projeto da alegria, menina. tô super na mesma, me abraça! ❤

Leave a Reply

